h1

Carnival/Circus Wedding

January 17, 2009

Balloon Dress!!! I was SO hoping I would find someone that actually wore one for a wedding. Mission accomplished.  What fun! I would love to go to one of these weddings and just wear the craziest outfit I could muster.  Man, I could really do without the clowns though. I’d like to thank the movie Poltergeist for that phobia.

Christina and Seth’s wedding at the International Clown Festival

in Hangzhou, China

wedding-1

img_1060

chrsitinaswedding

img_0581

clown-wedding

img_0273

The Eiffel Tower makes everything seem super romantic!

img_1156

16 comments

  1. […] Carnival/Circus Weddings Just amazing fun at weddings […]


  2. very good information


  3. Yes, some weddings are tacky, and a carnival? wow, strange. But still fun! when I think of how weddings should go I think of my middle daughter’s wedding. Nov 4 2007! A beautiful traditional wedding in a local 100 year old church, beautiful brides maids, my other daughters were maitrons of honor, the grooms brothers all in Tuxes. everything just so. A big party afterwards (and I DID do some balloon sculptures for the decor AND the people there!)

    On Nov 7 2007. the groom was arrested in a sting operation for trying to have sex with a 14 year old he met on the internet….She was a 30 year old, male, police detective and last week he was sentenced to 2 years in prison.

    So BRING on the Clowns! Let the Party begin! Have FUN! Screw convention! (oh, the divorce was final in March 08 and the scum was kicked out Nov 8! she had to use Wedding money to bail him out of jail!)

    Papa Balloon! (I AM a clown, but I don’t dress like one!)


  4. Sorry to have to tell you this but I think I was the first to be married in a wedding dress. (My husband Buster Balloon made it.) There’s a link on my site, http://www.BalloonStoryteller.com. It was in 2006 in Vegas. We got married by Elvis at a Blue Hawaiian ceremony. We’re in the latest edition of Ripley’s Believe it or Not.

    Love this dress though, and she looks wonderful in it. Do we know who made it?

    p.s. in your related links, thanks for crediting the artists. Means a lot.

    p.s. Hi Papa Balloon!

    Annie Banannie, Balloon Storyteller

    .


    • Hey, can I post your pictures of you in your dress? It’s so fun!


  5. I just found out this dress was made by Rie Hosaki from Japan. Beautiful, like all of her dresses.

    Annie Banannie


  6. I don’t really think these are truly tacky since the couple planned it to be outlandish and untraditional. Not my taste, but I have a deep and unabiding irrational fear of clowns. The weddings that peg the tack meter to the top are the ones that think they are the epitome of culture and just replace money for common sense or taste. It looks like a good sense of humor will be a plus to these couples…because after almost 30 years of marriage I can tell you if you don’t laugh, you don’t last.

    Heather


    • I completely agree with you, hence why I said it would be so much fun to go to one of these. This site is for FUNNY weddings, not necessarily just tacky ones. I pick weddings that I think my readers will get a kick out of, and these certainly apply.


  7. Hahahaha! I was at this wedding AND Annie Banannie’s – I guess I have the distinction of being the only wedding guest to attend 2 balloon dress weddings! (where’s Ripley’s now?)
    The wedding pictured here took place at the AEMI international clown festival in China in Oct. 2007. The dress is by Rie Hosokai (check out her phenomenal art work at http://www.daisyballoon.com/), the bride and groom were both performers from the festival – Seth Bloom and Christina Gelsone http://www.acrobuffos.com – who’ve been performing together for years, and fell in love in the process, and the clowns were all their friends.
    FYI – don’t be fooled by the Eiffel tower in the background – the festival took place in Hangzhou, China where they’ve built a whole new little city and park area that looks like Paris. But it was still romantic!

    I didn’t get married in a balloon dress, but I do create and perform in balloon art costumes for movie premieres and special events (an 8 foot long balloon pirate shipHahahaha! I was at this wedding AND Annie Banannie’s – I guess I have the distinction of being the only wedding guest to attend 2 balloon dress weddings! (where’s Ripley’s now?)
    The wedding pictured here took place at the AEMI international clown festival in China in Oct. 2007. The dress is by Rie Hosokai (check out her phenomenal art work at http://www.daisyballoon.com/), the bride and groom were both performers from the festival – Seth Bloom and Christina Gelsone http://www.acrobuffos.com – who’ve been performing together for years, and fell in love in the process, and the clowns were all their friends.
    FYI – don’t be fooled by the Eiffel tower in the background – the festival took place in Hangzhou, China where they’ve built a whole new little city and park area that looks like Paris. But it was still romantic!

    I didn’t get married in a balloon dress, but I do create and perform in balloon art costumes for movie premieres and special events (an 8 foot long pirate ship performed on stilts for the “Pirates of the Caribbean” 2 & 3 premieres, and the first balloon costume built around a Segway for the “Wall-e” premiere).
    Check it out at http://www.thesoozishow.com/
    Yeah, it’s a silly job, but somebody’s gotta do it.

    BTW the official name for clown phobia is “coulrophobia”


  8. Hahahaha! I was at this wedding AND at Annie Banannie’s wedding. I think I have the distinction of being the only guest to attend 2 balloon dress weddings! (Where’s Ripley’s now?)

    The wedding pictured here took place at the AEMI International Clown Festival in Hangzhou, China, Oct. 2007. The dress was made by Japanese Balloon artist Rie Hosokai. Check out her amazing artwork at http://daisyballoon.com/

    The bride and groom, Seth Bloom and Christina Gelsone, were both performers at the event and the clowns were their friends. They’ve been performing together for years and fell in love along the way http://www.acrobuffos.com/. The wedding was really fun.
    FYI, don’t let the Eiffel Tower fool you – it was in Hangzhou, where they’ve built a mini city and park that looks like Paris. C’est la vie!

    I didn’t wear a balloon wedding dress, but I do create and perform in balloon art costumes for movie premieres and special events (an 8 ft. long balloon pirate ship performed on stilts for “Pirates of the Carribbean” 2 & 3, and the first ever balloon costume built over a Segway for “Wall-e”). Check it out at http://www.thesoozishow.com/ Hey, it’s a silly job, but somebody’s got to do it.

    BTW, the official name for clown phobia is “Coulrophobia.” There is help out there for you…


  9. I honestly think a Balloon wedding dress was (and IS) beautiful! a wedding should reflect on the people who are participating! I LOVE seeing people who are dedicated to each other. I first Saw Annie and Don’s wedding dress in “Twisted” and I fell in LOVE with Annie! What a WONDERFUL woman! (too bad I am far older and already married! she is seemingly such a SWEET and lovable person! Don seems to be pretty cool too though!)

    I don’t know. Weddings as we know them have not been around all that long. I think that a wedding should reflect the people involved! Balloons, satin, or naked! who cares?, as long as the bride and groom are pleased with the result! We got married in slacks, and work boots in front of a judge. this Thursday it will be 34 years!

    Papa Mark


  10. please let us know where you found the pictures of the carnival wedding!!!


  11. […] The carnival weddings look like they were fun to attend though. […]


  12. […] here’s just the wedding for my trampoline-loving younger daughter — a circus theme!  Take a close look at the bride’s dress, which is made of […]


  13. I LOVE the first wedding. And having a circus wedding when both the bride and the groom are circus performers (and probably also met that way) is romantic and wonderful. Come on: There are enough TRULY hideous weddings around, so stick to those.


  14. I think the second wedding looks way cool. I don’t think the bride had any friends with her when she picked her dress, though. It makes her butt look HUGE!



Leave a Reply

