h1

Ugly Bridesmaid Dresses

February 27, 2009

2048329108_0d3919fe53

uglydress215091

threedumbmice

20962631_a4f9808833_o1

66751240_5746f7fcf2

68586418tobpuy_ph1

These dresses could use a little extra support…

81814867kdwfvsgmdscf0011small1

268253639_1b277dd7a4

2390601441_334052fc901

2671611005_37ba699abf

2671484745_b8f6c3fa18

2672286452_d3fbc24a1b

girls_in_blue

pink_dress4_340x490

Santa bridesmaids, oh dear!

santabridesmaid

wedding-party

wedding_party

gold_dresses_490x340

bad-dress-1

dresssheets1

fiddledeedee

bad-dress-3

218449302_241190d26e

281501660_582b7d002d

artsaloongirlsirpt

bridesmaid_dress_ugly1

bridesmaidtaffeta1

curtains

dress

juniorbridesmaid

ugly-dress

Some of these pictures were taken from ThreeTimesaBridesmaid and Etiquette Hell, both great sites!!

56 comments

  1. Loved this! I blogged about it here:

    http://globetrottingbride.blogspot.com/2009/03/bad-bad-bad-bridesmaid-dresses.html


  2. The corset tu-tu wins!


  3. Those dresses crack me up. what were they thinking!?


  4. This is classic!! I am posting it on our blog – where did you get all these? Fabulous!!


  5. […] 11, 2009 in Uncategorized I found a hilarious blog today feature UGLY bridesmaid dresses – click here to check it out!  Bridesmaids of today – feel lucky that you are past the years of wearing some of […]


  6. You know, if you consider WHEN these photos were taken, some of them really aren’t that bad.


  7. I just found your blog via weddinskulls and i love it! omg some of these dresses are truely hideous! I may have to do a little post ‘when weddings go bad’ on Rock n Roll Bride…omg some of these dresses!


  8. It burns….


  9. Oh for heaven’s sake!!! Those dresses are awful…


  10. Seriously, how could you look in the mirror and say”wow, I look good.” I just don’t understand. I got a good laugh out of it tho : )

    http://www.lonestarweddings.blogpot.com


  11. […] spent this week marveling over the choices people made for the happiest day of their life. The ugly bridesmaid dress section is a particularly good one. That’s me in the photo shown here, circa 1987. No offense […]


  12. I read somewhere a bride said that she must choose a horrible dress for the bridesmaids so they couldn’t upstage her. It’s the most ridiculus thing I ever heard, but I guess these brides are so insecure that they force the bridesmaids to wear these atrocities.

    Note for the Brides: if you choose these kind of dresses for this reason, have in mind that all your guests will talk not about your beauty, but your lack of taste.


  13. Is that Paris Hilton on a corset tutu?


  14. Uh huh, yeah, it isn’t really entirely fair to judge past fahion by today’s standards. Some of those 70s dresses are really rather pretty, all things considered. But some of them have no hope no matter what era they’re from.

    That being said, I had to mention that just yesterday I actually tried on a dress exactly like the red and white ones in the first picture, only in white over black. I was thinking some kid of hideous goth-princess halloween costume. lol My eyes popped when I saw them in that photo.


  15. now i have some GREAT ideas for how NOT TO DRESS MY 3 BEST FRIENDS on my wedding day!


  16. A couple of them aren’t even that bad ……..


  17. Boy, have we come a long, long way in wedding dress styles!


  18. I actually had to wear the purple satin one at my sister’s wedding, with matching hat and shoes…it looks better on the guys


  19. They-are-all-old.They-would-have-been-gorgeous-in-thereday.


  20. I LOVE the frilly 70’s one! So hippie chic.


  21. My mom wore that pink one when she was a bridesmaid. Seriously, that exact one.


  22. I loveyour blog!

    Some of these dresses make me scream. OH GOD WHY!


  23. This blog rocks! I couldn’t resist using one of your photos in my blog:

    http://budget-bridal.blogspot.com/2009/11/can-bridesmaid-dress-multi-task.html


  24. […] Tacky Weddings blog, with the best bridesmaid dresses everrr!!! […]


  25. D tutu r luvly not vry orginal seen beta me pal pearly had tem but 10x nicer


  26. I actually like the purple corset one. philadelphia pizza


  27. Oh, so what? Styles change. They were all fashionable and beautiful in their own time. The lesson I take from this is not to take fashion seriously.


  28. The red christmas dress and the black white dresses underneath aren’t bad. During those time periods I would wear them. The rest are very amusing.


  29. I had a colleague who was one of 4 or 5 sisters. When her daughter got married, she and all her sisters pulled out their hideous 70’s and 80’s bridesmaids dresses and had a “fashion show” bridal shower. At least they got some good laughs and a 2nd use out of the dresses!


  30. […] Wedding […]


  31. Hello Tackyweddings

    What collection of bridesmaid dresses you have here:)

    Best regards Anna, Denmark


  32. Haha I love the gold ones! For all things tack – we salute you


  33. Like other people have mentioned, most of these dresses aren’t ugly, they are just out of style right now. In another few years people will be posting currently stylish bridesmaid dresses on a tacky wedding site if the criteria is nothing more than outdated trends and fashions. It’s interesting how people’s perceptions of beauty change over the years, and how some people can’t appreciate anything beyond their own generation of style choice. I wish I could think of some pithy witticism to state about “slaves to fashion” here… but I’ll just leave my post at that.


  34. well of course they’re tacky!! majority of them are from way back when!… it was ok to be tacky weddings then… we just laugh at them now. lol


  35. […] us to say about a thing that is completely disgusting? What would make the others to say about your dress that is ugly and especially when you're the bridesmaid of your best friend? In the following […]


  36. I was a 70’s bride– I thought the dresses were great then– of course now they look bad. But the 80’s satin dresses and the frill is really a mess!in 10 years todays dresses will look bad too…


  37. Stylistically the biggest fail ever.

    What was the bride thinking making girls wear gold coin-stuffed like dresses?!

    80s dresses were dead 20 years ago and they’re still dead. Why on earth would anyone think it’s good style!


  38. The second pic make me laugh out loud it looks like something a little girl would wear to play dress up!


  39. This is so shockin’!
    I thought Bridesmaid dresses were supposed to look great! I loved this site!!!!!!!!!! IT helped me learn a lot of things.

    PS the last one and the second last one didn’t look THAT bad, does it?


  40. […] been in (yes, that’s me, directly to the bride’s right). The other photos were found on TackyWeddings.com, which you really need to check out for a good laugh/walk down memory […]


  41. Still, keeping in mind many of those dresses were ok at their time, I’m glad bridesmaids are not a typical wedding feature at Spain… Even if the bride choose a pretty bridesmaid dress, it may be not a good design for all the bridesmaids


  42. […] Ugly Bridesmaid Dresses […]


  43. Really…I do not think these dresses are tacky so much as just out of style. Back in the day, some of these looked like very nice weddings. I had blue brides maids much like the picture of the blue dresses with the parasols. It was a popular look at the time.

    Personally, I am tired of all the strapless, revealing, non exciting dresses. They are expected and all look alike.

    Tacky? I knew/know, plenty of young girls who secretly love that and dream of pretty poofy gowns but are slaves to popular fashion. Fashion trends change all the time. Once you hit 50 you realise that. 🙂


  44. Beach Wedding Dress


  45. […] Image via Tacky Weddings […]


  46. It’s really not fair to post dresses from the 80’s that were very much in style and call them “ugly”. If you look at what Princess Di was wearing or the women on Dallas, you’d see similar styles. Styles change.


  47. I LOVE this site!!!!! LOL!!! I am also proud to say that one of the bridesmaid dresses featured on this page I actually had to wear to a friend’s wedding in 1993. 🙂 The sixth dress up, the teal dress with the flower embosing! I was just wondering if any other site has any pictures of the back of the dress! I only have pictures of the front of it and I would love to show my husband just HOW bad this dress was!!!! 🙂 Thanks!!!!! 🙂 (Please comment underneath) 🙂


  48. This is a design that aims to make the bridesmaids look beautiful and sexy at the same time. If you are looking for dress in chiffon fabric, this can be a great option.


  49. Oh this is so useful, thank you! hehehehehe


  50. I think this is among the such a lot vital information for me. And i am glad studying your article. However want to observation on some basic issues, The website style is ideal, the articles is truly great : D. Just right process, cheers


  51. Most of those are not ugly–it’s just the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s!


  52. No doubt about it. really really ugly.

    http://www.bridesmaiddressesuk.org


  53. Someone essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles I might state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual publish extraordinary. Wonderful activity!


  54. […] This photo came from an Ugly Bridesmaid post on tackyweddings.com. […]


  55. I don’t thunk these dresses are ugly, some dresses are nice! my wedding dresses blog:www.custom-wedding.info


  56. Some truely hideous garments! God bless the 80’s for some of the best monstrosities!



Leave a Reply

